apple intermediate codec
  • keptnahab
    member
    Posts: 30
    Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:51 am
    Location: munich, germany

    apple intermediate codec

    by keptnahab » Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:21 pm

    hi

    anyone uses the "new" apple intermediate hd codec ?
    ive played around it with several formats on my mbp 2x2,33 ghz/4gb
    and on my macpro 8x3ghz/8gb/x1900xt. here are my subjective results:

    with the 8core ai really rocks, i can play files 4096x768 without drops
    which never really worked with pjpg before !
    also on the mbp it seems to run smoother, although the cpu usage seems
    to be enormous since the fan is always on full power during playback
    and the mbp gets really hot in seconds !

    it seems to be a good alternative to pjpg, especially with enough
    cpu power. you can access every frame with this codec (not like h264)
    so its possible to jump,scrub,play backwards.
    and it compresses to very small files with excellent quality !

    so, does anyone use this codec already for m8,and whats your experience?

    regards,
    mike
    the box said windows xp or better - so i bought a mac
  • User avatar
    deepvisual
    master
    Posts: 402
    Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:54 am
    Location: London UK
    Contact:

    Re: apple intermediate codec

    by deepvisual » Tue Mar 18, 2008 9:46 am

    I was recommended to use it for catalyst by an experienced operator.
  • RickRobiN
    activ8 member
    Posts: 51
    Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:12 pm
    Location: amsterdam
    Contact:

    by RickRobiN » Tue Mar 18, 2008 10:05 pm

    really good information this. thanks for sharing!
    cheers RR
  • toby
    member
    Posts: 11
    Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 1:48 am

    by toby » Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:48 pm

    Does anyone know how to set the quality with Intermedia Compression.
    In QickTime Export & Compressor its fixed on 50%.
  • User avatar
    deepvisual
    master
    Posts: 402
    Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:54 am
    Location: London UK
    Contact:

    by deepvisual » Mon May 12, 2008 1:13 pm

    this works in AFX..
    set codec to photojpeg.
    set compression
    switch to AIC
    it remembers the compression setting...
  • RickRobiN
    activ8 member
    Posts: 51
    Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:12 pm
    Location: amsterdam
    Contact:

    by RickRobiN » Wed May 21, 2008 12:25 am

    So what will be better (safer/faster/etc) h264 @ 100% or AIC @ 100 %..
    talking about 1080p multiscreen set up with a mac pro 08
    (edit under heavy processor load (during AE renders etc) quicktime h264 plays smoother. already did a gig without probs with h264, so not sure to switch to AIC)
    cheers RR
  • keptnahab
    member
    Posts: 30
    Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:51 am
    Location: munich, germany

    by keptnahab » Fri May 23, 2008 3:40 pm

    no need to switch to aic as long as you only play your movies,
    only if you want to jump and scrub in your movies aic is better
    at least this works for me.
    the box said windows xp or better - so i bought a mac
  • RickRobiN
    activ8 member
    Posts: 51
    Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:12 pm
    Location: amsterdam
    Contact:

    by RickRobiN » Fri May 23, 2008 4:11 pm

    thanks for your answer :)
  • RickRobiN
    activ8 member
    Posts: 51
    Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:12 pm
    Location: amsterdam
    Contact:

    by RickRobiN » Sun Jun 01, 2008 7:32 pm

    AIC looks much better than H264 with footage with a lot of gradient.
    Last edited by RickRobiN on Wed Jun 25, 2008 7:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
  • User avatar
    deepvisual
    master
    Posts: 402
    Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:54 am
    Location: London UK
    Contact:

    by deepvisual » Mon Jun 02, 2008 9:35 am

    I've been getting odd artifacts on AIC.
    blue backgrounds have streaks ??
  • maxus
    junior Member
    Posts: 9
    Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 11:04 pm
    Contact:

    by maxus » Tue Jun 03, 2008 11:47 am

    hi.. i'm trying to choose codec too... i've been using apple pro res but it shutters when i try to change the clip speed. my videos are one minute long 3072*768

    what's the best codec?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest