Making masks with the painter layer
  • jockety
    activ8 member
    Posts: 72
    Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 3:08 pm

    Making masks with the painter layer

    by jockety » Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:30 pm

    I discovered an easy way to mask an area using the painter layer. I was trying to mask a very large area which was being covered by 3 projectors (Each one was a different model)
    using a triple head 2 go. I realized that taking photo's from each projector location was going to be a nightmare in photoshop later. So, i used the Painter layer to paint my projection area white, then render output as a PNG. Once PNG was imported into Photoshop preparing Mask was very quick because it was black + white.
    I think this would be even easier with a wacom tablet, i will invest in one me finks.
  • idmism
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 2:43 pm

    by idmism » Mon Apr 05, 2010 7:31 pm

    how do u render as PNG?
    as i render as photo-Jpeg/tiff but it wont appear.
  • vanakaru
    master
    Posts: 669
    Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:24 pm

    by vanakaru » Mon Apr 05, 2010 8:56 pm

    idmism wrote:how do u render as PNG?
    as i render as photo-Jpeg/tiff but it wont appear.

    Actually what we are talking here is Render>Output Screenshot, that produce PNG file on your desktop. Nothing to do with recording, capturing.
    Last edited by vanakaru on Tue Apr 06, 2010 6:57 am, edited 2 times in total.
  • anomad
    master
    Posts: 412
    Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:07 pm
    Location: north cakalacky, usa
    Contact:

    by anomad » Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:02 am

    . nice tip! :)


    -james
    (a nomad. )
  • User avatar
    sigmasix
    master
    Posts: 1223
    Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:12 pm
    Location: gva | switzerland
    Contact:

    by sigmasix » Tue Apr 06, 2010 8:41 am

    it actually doesn't work in a advanced output setup if you have multiple clips… Last time I did a screenshot of the preview window then I vectorized the whole thing into photoshop in order to make it the right resolution, then tried in modul8, and corrected my vector path in photoshop for small mistakes.

    You can also do the whole thing in photoshop or illustrator, working with vectors is the best solution for masking, it allows fine tuning and easy modification.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest