Best MIDI controller for Modul8

Tips and Tricks for Modul8

Moderator: Garagecube

Best MIDI controller for Modul8

Postby FlyingLobster » Fri May 07, 2010 2:07 pm

Hey VJs,


I would like to know what is the best MIDI config to control Modul8.
I mean, I am currently using an Hercules DJ RMX console as my midi controller, but I think it is not the best way to control the software.
I would like to buy some new MIDI controller, and I would like to know which ones you recommend to control modul8.

If you can also describe which funtions you assigned to what controls, it would help !
User avatar
FlyingLobster
Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 10:45 am
Location: Brussels, Belgiuym

Postby vanakaru » Sun May 09, 2010 12:37 pm

iPad with TouchOSC. You build your own layout and use OSCulator to get Midi to map in M8.
I have been using iPod Touch. 3 of these to have maps for different groups. Plus Korg NANOs for real knobs and sliders.
Seems I am reddy to sell my UC33.
Just saw it posted http://www.garagecube.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4861
if you got cash to buy Mono.
vanakaru
master
 
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:24 pm

Re: Best MIDI controller for Modul8

Postby mowgli_uk » Sun May 09, 2010 2:21 pm

FlyingLobster wrote: what is the best MIDI config to control Modul8.

there isn't such a thing. The question is what's best for you. You're already not happy with the hercules and that's a good starting point. What are you missing? Consider that and then think about what you'd like to have. I use about 6 different controller configurations for different set ups. The ipad way has the advantage of being able to devise your own control surface and change is as necessary but still you'll need to figure out what you want to control.
mowgli_uk
master
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 10:43 pm
Location: LONDON

Postby FlyingLobster » Mon May 10, 2010 11:05 am

Well you are right, everyone has it's own setup and needs.

But I guess there might be a common part for most of the VJs.
For example, everyone I believe has the fader A/B group mapped + speed and size of some layers mapped to knobs.
What else would be part of the basic set ? some filters ? autorotate ? audio in ? ...

In terms of controller, I believe it also depends on the person and the needs... But if many of you are using the same controller as part of their setup, I'll probably buy it so that I use what most people use...
User avatar
FlyingLobster
Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 10:45 am
Location: Brussels, Belgiuym

Postby FlyingLobster » Mon May 10, 2010 11:05 am

And too bad the Ipad is not for sale in europe (or belgium) yet...
User avatar
FlyingLobster
Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 10:45 am
Location: Brussels, Belgiuym

Postby eyegasm » Mon May 10, 2010 11:13 am

Can the iPad really replace a standard MIDI controller? I'm looking to get the iPad anyways so that would be killing two birds with one stone if it also can be my MIDI controller.
eyegasm
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 10:28 am
Location: Seoul, Korea

Postby FlyingLobster » Mon May 10, 2010 12:58 pm

yes it can.
Look for the touchOSC application. There are also others...
User avatar
FlyingLobster
Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 10:45 am
Location: Brussels, Belgiuym

Postby Frischvergiftung » Wed Jun 09, 2010 8:04 pm

the korg nanoseries is pretty cool, plus not very expensive:
http://www.korg.com/nanoseries
+++++++++++++
Life is a horrible game, but hey, the framerate rocks!
Frischvergiftung
Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:52 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Postby anomad » Thu Jun 10, 2010 2:37 am

FlyingLobster wrote:For example, everyone I believe has the fader A/B group mapped + speed and size of some layers mapped to knobs.
What else would be part of the basic set ? some filters ? autorotate ? audio in ? ...


. hmm, nope. not me :)

. i use an Ohm36 + four layers of video - i use the left sliders for opacity, the bottom buttons for layer select, upper knobs and buttons to control various parameters (usually via a module)

. i use the top 6x4 buttons (of the 6x6 grid) for bank and clip selection on the currently active layer.

. i use the bottom 2x6 buttons to jump to random positions on the video in layer 2 (usually a silhouette of a dancer generated in poser) - i use the bottom a/b slider to control the speed and the button to the right of the a/b slider to reverse direction of the clip

. i use the right four sliders/knobs/buttons to control other parameters in a module, like fx, spir0, etc

. i also have a korg nanoKey connected to a module that will layer effects based on the order the key are pressed - 1 octave dedicated to layer2, 5 keys to layer3 and 7 keys to layer4 - black keys toggle on/off color, scale, rotate parameters.

. so, it varies. :D

-james
(a nomad. )
anomad
master
 
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:07 pm
Location: north cakalacky, usa

Postby lamepantallas » Thu Jun 10, 2010 5:56 am

I use the UC-33, its a classic I believe...ive been looking into buying the codanova midis: lots of knobs, lots of flexibility, the less i touch the computer the better for me...

plus there is a new codanova for m8 being promoted, dont know how good or appropiate it is, but it sure is interesting:

http://www.codanova.fr/article-teaser-v ... 47511.html


cheers an good luck!

gabbo
No se quien soy, pero se de que huyo. M.Montaigne
Twitter: @popversus / @esegabbo
lamepantallas
super8 member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 1:09 am
Location: Honduras

Postby FlyingLobster » Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:53 am

lamepantallas,

could you describe a bit how you mapped the controls on your UC33 ?
I just bought one but no idea how to map it nicely !


Thanks
User avatar
FlyingLobster
Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 10:45 am
Location: Brussels, Belgiuym

Postby lamepantallas » Thu Jun 10, 2010 4:47 pm

ohh my, thats a huge description!

still it all depends how you use m8, actually my setup hs changed over the years as I have gained more experience and understood better the combination of functionallities for more efficient use for my live performances...

let me see if I can take a screenshot of my midi set up...
will get back to you later...
cheers!

gabbo
No se quien soy, pero se de que huyo. M.Montaigne
Twitter: @popversus / @esegabbo
lamepantallas
super8 member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 1:09 am
Location: Honduras

Postby FlyingLobster » Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:21 pm

thanks !
User avatar
FlyingLobster
Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 10:45 am
Location: Brussels, Belgiuym

Postby control zeta » Sun Jun 13, 2010 7:29 pm

Hey I use akai MPD-24 cause i like triggering clips into layers.
i use the 5 of the 6 faders for layer assign and dont really use gorup b, i also recomen having a wacom pen tablet.... the ipad looks like a great solution too.....
control zeta
Junior Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 4:18 pm

Postby FlyingLobster » Sun Jun 13, 2010 8:04 pm

A pen tablet ? To do what ?
User avatar
FlyingLobster
Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 10:45 am
Location: Brussels, Belgiuym

Next

Return to Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests