HELP : LaunchPad with Modul8

Tips and Tricks for Modul8

Moderator: Garagecube

HELP : LaunchPad with Modul8

Postby proglime » Sun Jun 13, 2010 5:56 am

hi all, i just get Novation LaunchPad
but it seems cant control m8 native
i know i can control m8 through Ableton Live
but i feel little trouble when i set the Live Seq
i just wonder, if theres another way, the easier way

i just want LaunchPad works like a normal midi device,
so i can:
trigger clips easily
toggle efx on/off
layers on/off
etc...

pls leave a msg if u got any ideas
THX a LOT!!!


PS:
anyone know how to use launchpad with automap 3 pro?
i installed, but it seems automap cant detect launchpad :(
i tried both pc & mac
dont know why...

ask for help also

THX all ppl again!!!
proglime
Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 7:56 am

Postby anomad » Sun Jun 13, 2010 8:16 pm

. i finally decided on a novation launchpad and ordered one yesterday (they're $162 @ amazon.com)

. createdigitalmotion.com had a story about novation releasing their MIDI map for the unit
http://createdigitalmusic.com/2009/11/0 ... launchpad/

. good luck and i'll post my findings when the item ships!

-james
(a nomad. )
anomad
ultim8 member
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:07 pm
Location: north cakalacky, usa

Postby proglime » Tue Jun 22, 2010 12:15 pm

thanks for your help!
i'll keep waiting for ur reviews!

:D
proglime
Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 7:56 am

Postby proglime » Thu Jul 15, 2010 6:44 am

any good news here?
still cant figure it out...

:shock:
proglime
Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 7:56 am

Postby anomad » Fri Jul 16, 2010 8:14 am

. i've been crazy-busy the last few weeks - hopefully i'll have some time to dig into the launchpad.

. anyone have ideas on what you would map to the launch pad?

. you have 4 (or 5?) 'pages' of an 8x8 grid - i'm thinking of some of the obvious things like layer selection - choosing clips... but, what else?


-james
(a nomad )
anomad
ultim8 member
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:07 pm
Location: north cakalacky, usa

Postby Lumen » Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:34 pm

Hi,

I Just bought a Launchpad and found that it mapped first time as with any other midi controller.

within minutes had it selecting the media, layers and controls.

however... I'd really like to get the L.E.Ds working too.
Anyone had any luck sending midi out of modul8 to the launchpad?

I'm a complete novice at the module editing side, though think this could be a good way to learn.

Any pointers would be much appreciated!!
I got the midi map from here - http://www.novationmusic.com/download/668/

Using the 'two way midi module' form the online library i sent out messages, though they seemed completely random.. but the pads DID light up atleast.

However that module is way too complicated for me to decipher the script right now :(

Any help appreciated!!
Tom
User avatar
Lumen
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:37 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: HELP : LaunchPad with Modul8

Postby byrdipop » Thu May 10, 2012 10:13 pm

If you want to get midi feedback to the launch pad, I would definitely recommend using ableton. If you send a midi track in ableton back to the launch pad you can light up the buttons by sending the same midi note that the button sends out. Different velocities will give you different colors. It takes some work, but by using clips with different launch modes, and putting them in the correct track/scene in ableton, you should be able to get it to do what you want. Ableton is crucial in my set up just for midi stuff. There are endless tricks you can use to make modul8 react to your controller in ways that are not possible by mapping directly. I use the intro version of live (about 100$) and it serves my purposes extremely well. All of my midi control goes through ableton, and I use the IAC bus to communicate from ableton to modul8. It really opens up a whole new level of control and feedback. Let me know if you have any specific questions. It can definitely get a little complex, but it's worth it.

Andrew
byrdipop
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 12:39 am

Re: HELP : LaunchPad with Modul8

Postby cvanhoose » Fri May 25, 2012 8:42 pm

Byrdipop. Greetings, question: are you getting feed back if you decide to take control from the modul8 from the computer?
I don't have this controller, as I use the BCR20000 with Darts twoway midi module - then use the same channels and map them to ableton.
I'm curious because I need another media set selector. The launchpad looks nice. I may get the mpd24 just because if the great cost lately.
Thanks.
User avatar
cvanhoose
activ8 member
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:12 am


Return to Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests