tip for migrating loops
  • comatory
    member
    Posts: 15
    Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:38 am

    tip for migrating loops

    by comatory » Tue Jan 25, 2011 1:02 am

    So as the manual says, the best way to work with media in M8 is by using photojpeg codec, right?

    I have hardrive full of loops that I used to use on PC with Resolume. Fortunately I have also copies of them, masters in DV AVI format.

    I am looking for a good way to convert them to photoJPEG codec as I want to use something that won't hog the processor too much. I have Premiere Pro CS5 but it has no batch export function, somehow Media Encoder is missing the export options.

    Handbrake will only let me use h.264 codecs.

    I was thinking what do you guys use. Is purchasing Quicktime Pro a good idea?
  • Jordan
    junior Member
    Posts: 6
    Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 2:57 am

    If you have the budget go for

    by Jordan » Tue Jan 25, 2011 3:18 am

    Canopus Procoder 3. Otherwise, download the FREE "Any video converter"
  • anomad
    master
    Posts: 412
    Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:07 pm
    Location: north cakalacky, usa
    Contact:

    by anomad » Tue Jan 25, 2011 3:19 am

    . i think that if you have Perian (to be able to read the WinTel video formats) installed, you can use MPEGStreamclip to do bulk converts.


    -james
    (a nomad. )
  • comatory
    member
    Posts: 15
    Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:38 am

    by comatory » Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:59 am

    Oh how I long for ProCoder 3! I used to have it on my win PC, best piece of software ever done! They need to make Mac version.

    I will look into MPEGStreamclip.

    Thanks.
  • comatory
    member
    Posts: 15
    Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:38 am

    by comatory » Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:01 pm

    What about codecs.

    PhotoJPEG has pretty big size, almost the same as AVI DV codec.

    I was wondering about performance, which one will do better. I will be using pretty long sequences (even 3-4 mins long).
  • Jordan
    junior Member
    Posts: 6
    Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 2:57 am

    by Jordan » Tue Jan 25, 2011 1:07 pm

    No solution for the size... You can always try to reduce the quality. Buy 1tb firewire 800 2.5" HDD and you're set.
  • sneha123
    junior Member
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 1:15 pm
    Location: delhi

    by sneha123 » Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:21 am

    Hello friends,,,,sneha here,,,I was thinking what do you guys use. Is purchasing Quicktime Pro a good idea?........please hope you help us,,,,,
  • User avatar
    dmx513
    member
    Posts: 10
    Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 7:50 pm
    Location: marseille

    by dmx513 » Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:49 pm

  • User avatar
    lotech
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 228
    Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 1:26 am
    Location: Auckland, NZ
    Contact:

    by lotech » Mon Jan 31, 2011 8:47 pm

    You should always install Perian on your mac as it'll no doubt save your ass if someone gives you a clip in some obscure codec at a gig and you need to transcode.

    If you've got FCP or any of the Apple pro apps installed then using Compressor is your best bet for bulk transcodes.
  • User avatar
    VjKg
    super8 member
    Posts: 169
    Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 10:27 pm
    Location: Philly
    Contact:

    by VjKg » Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:39 pm

    sneha123 wrote:Is purchasing Quicktime Pro a good idea?



    QT Pro is not the best solution for converting a ton of clips. It is however extremely cheap and very powerful.

    Example: Open movie, select in via "I" key, select out via "O", Copy via Command-C, create new via Command-N, paste via Command-V.

    This can be done in about two seconds. You have just extracted a clip from a longer video. I can edit with QT Pro, cuts only of course.

    Also if you have Final Cut Pro installed you already have QuickTime Pro.

    Final Cut Pro, iTunes, iMovie, MPEGStream Clip, ProCoder etc. are all just fancy GUI's that use QuickTime as the core. iTunes is just a database program that feeds commands to Quicktime.
  • sannu123

    by sannu123 » Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:02 pm

    VjKg wrote:
    sneha123 wrote:Is purchasing Quicktime Pro a good idea?



    QT Pro is not the best solution for converting a ton of clips. It is however extremely cheap and very powerful.

    Example: Open movie, select in via "I" key, select out via "O", Copy via Command-C, create new via Command-N, paste via Command-V.

    This can be done in about two seconds. You have just extracted a clip from a longer video. I can edit with QT Pro, cuts only of course.

    Also if you have Final Cut Pro installed you already have QuickTime Pro.

    Final Cut Pro, iTunes, iMovie, MPEGStream Clip, ProCoder etc. are all just fancy GUI's that use QuickTime as the core. iTunes is just a database program that feeds commands to Quicktime.



    Thanks for nice suggestion in this post,,,,,useful information according this thread,,,,,thanks for the post.....

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests