LIVE CAMERA ON A PLAY
  • pedrotromano

LIVE CAMERA ON A PLAY

by pedrotromano » Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:20 pm

Hello, i'm quite new in Modul8 and i'm having trouble to conect a external camera. In this play at the end we have one camera live on a screen.
    My doubts are:

modul8 just recognizes a firewire conection, or can recognize other connections like composite or hdmi?

Whats the procedure to make this, live streaming on modul8, work ?

many thanks

PS i have a Mac Book Pro, modul8 2.6 and an hdd sony handycam
  • vanakaru
    master

Re: LIVE CAMERA ON A PLAY

by vanakaru » Wed Aug 29, 2012 6:09 pm

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=3951

You can use firewire but it will be DV quality and size and latency about 1/2 sec. Also DV signal processing is the most CPU heavy.
    So far the best I have seen in MXO2. Both quality and latency wise. Probably BlackMagic Intensity is as good but cheaper.
    But if you are deciding using firewire and Sony try USB cameras instead. You can run longer cables and some cams perform very good. Firewire and DV is the worst choice to have.
  • pedrotromano

by pedrotromano » Wed Aug 29, 2012 6:14 pm

thanks! but do you think i need a matrox?
  • vanakaru
    master

by vanakaru » Wed Aug 29, 2012 9:16 pm

pedrotromano wrote:thanks! but do you think i need a matrox?

I wouldn't know.
    What quality you are after? What is your budget? How important is latency - do you require lip-sync? How far is the camera from computer - the length of the cables? How large is the projection? What projector you use?

I have MXO2 Mini and I use it with good quality security cams. S-video if cables do not need to be long and BNC otherwise. If i'd have Canon DSLR I could use it with HDMI capture FullHD without dada overlay(hacked firmware).
    But I use Sony PS3 Eyecam as well and for gallery installations I find USB iSight taken from old iMac that is tiny and mac native the best. So....
  • pedrotromano

by pedrotromano » Fri Aug 31, 2012 3:57 pm