Higher control over sound input
  • KsaweryKir

Higher control over sound input

by KsaweryKir » Fri Aug 05, 2016 2:28 am

My question is not directly connected to Modul8, but I hope that someone had a similar problem and solved it.

I would like to take a higher control over sound input which Modul8 gets. I'm catching a mic signal through a sound card. I want to change it (i.e. in AU Lab) and use in M8. I already installed AU Lab, Line in, Soundflower, but can't figure out how to set them up (I tried a lot). I know M8 uses a sound input set in Preferences, but I have no idea how to add a changed sound there. I already was in MIDI Audio setup, but no success.

It probably is pretty obvious, but I'm a noob in this area...
  • anomad
    master

Re: Higher control over sound input

by anomad » Fri Aug 05, 2016 4:55 pm

. make sure that in 'System Preferences' -> 'Hardware' - 'Sound' that the 'Input' tab is set to the correct input.

. if you're using Soundflower, make sure you're set it up correct (http://www.macworld.com/article/1159440 ... pture.html ) and then have AU lab running out to Soundflower and have Soundflower as your system input.

. then launch Modul8

. in the bottom right corner of the main window, make sure to turn the 'Sound Level IN' knob up then press Command-Option-a to see the audio monitor. you can fine tune the 'Gain' and 'Damping' there.

. over the years, i've had a lot of success w/Soundflower on OS X 10.5 and 10.6 but since then it has been hit or miss if it actually works and plays sound out through that speakers and back in to Modul8 so i gave up on that and just route the sound back in via hardware.

. good luck!

-james
    (a nomad. )
  • KsaweryKir

by KsaweryKir » Sun Aug 07, 2016 12:16 am