help with MiniMAD and OSC commands
  • simonegiusti
    member
    Posts: 11
    Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:23 pm

    help with MiniMAD and OSC commands

    by simonegiusti » Wed Feb 27, 2019 1:30 pm

    Is there any guide except from manual ??
    I need to remote play scenes using OSC and network.
    Any help will be appreciated.

    Thanks.
  • simonegiusti
    member
    Posts: 11
    Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:23 pm

    Re: help with MiniMAD and OSC commands

    by simonegiusti » Wed Feb 27, 2019 9:22 pm

    I need to know if is there a real support for this product.
    I try to ask for some questions before buying it with no luck.
    Now, if I can't receive informations I will be forced to return item and ask for refund.

    this is the question:
    I composed my Madmapper project (1 projector, 1 clip for scene). It consists of a couple of scenes. I transfered my project to MiniMad microSD with no warnings.
    I need to trigger my scenes sending OSC commands from an external sequencer (Show Cue Systems).

    Basically, I have 4 quad to map.

    I found these on your manual:
    /set_media_by_name/{media name}
    /set_media_by_index/{media index}

    I guess these commands will select a scene or not ??

    /play will play that ??

    or ... is there no way to trigger a scene ???

    so ... how can I go on ??



    Thanks.
  • UODavid
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:10 am

    Re: help with MiniMAD and OSC commands

    by UODavid » Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:26 am

    So I worked for about 2 1/2 hours today with the black MiniMAD and came across this while working because I was having the same problem. No control over OSC and no documentation or support available online. So, I thought I would come back and share my findings with you.

    I'm not positive, but I think you can only cue "Cues" and "Scenes" by sending OSC to madmapper. In madmapper, under help there is a list of OSC commands that can been sent. However, I think when uploading the project to the miniMAD, all you are uploading is your surface, projector settings, and media. Which leaves you with very limited control (only the commands listed in the miniMAD user guide).

    IF you can send all those OSC commands listed in madmapper to the miniMAD as well, I was unable to do it through OSC from medialon. This is because medialon also sends a value with the OSC address. SO, I used UDP instead of OSC. This allowed me to send "/play", "/pause", etc. in a frame without a value attached, and that worked for me. So maybe try sending the OSC address through as a UDP packet instead of OSC. Use the same 1111 port.

    also, /set_media_by_name/{media name} & /set_media_by_index/{media index} should set the media to be played but I would assume you would the need to also send the /play command after that. So, maybe send the set command and then the play command and perhaps that will play the selected media.

    I may be able to help a little more if you let me know what software you are trying to control your miniMAD from.

    Hope this helps!
    Cheers! :D
  • UODavid
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:10 am

    Re: help with MiniMAD and OSC commands

    by UODavid » Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:43 am

    Just realized you said you are using SCS in your Original post.

    So, I downloaded the demo for SCS to take a look. It looks like SCS, let's you send just the frame without a value unlike medialon. It also, looks like it already treats OSC exactly like UDP so that's not the problem most likely.

    So, I think the issue you're probably having is miniMAD is not able to take the OSC commands that control scenes and cues set up in madmapper. I think in order to do that you need to send the commands to a computer running madmapper instead of sending to a miniMAD with the media and surfaces loaded on it.

    Maybe I'm wrong and someone from garagecube will hop in this thread and explain in further detail.

    Good Luck!
  • simonegiusti
    member
    Posts: 11
    Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:23 pm

    Re: help with MiniMAD and OSC commands

    by simonegiusti » Fri Mar 01, 2019 8:54 am

    Dear David,
    I really appreciated your help !
    I can confirm there's no support from GarageCube. Manual is really poor and nobody answered my emails not in presale and postsale.
    Knowing that I would had choose another solution from the beginning.
    Support is really important and it's a great value.
    Anyway ....
    I tested Minimad with SCS and I understand that it supports only media playing. No scenes/cues supported.
    The only thing you can do is preparing your clips on Premiere (in my case) and transfer them to Minimad avoiding using Madmapper fx and scenes.
    I succeed in selecting a media by index but not by name. Manual does not explain if 'by_name' refers to original name with extension or without it. In Minimad media are converted in .mov. Brackets are needed ??? nobody knows ...

    Ok for /play and /pause but ... what about stop ???? did the really not insert a command to stop playing ??? I can't believe that.
    Another issue ... can I directly switch from a media to another ?? (possibly crossfading)

    I wrote support but if I can't have these basic information I think I will return minimad and ask for refund.

    Thanks.
  • Benoit
    activ8 member
    Posts: 71
    Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 6:42 pm
    Location: Geneva
    Contact:

    Re: help with MiniMAD and OSC commands

    by Benoit » Fri Mar 01, 2019 4:46 pm

    Hi Simone,

    I answered to a lot of your e-mails - I mean all your mails.

    Sometimes not immediately and I know it can be frustrating to not get answers or help quickly while your working on a critical project for exemple - modul8 and madMapper were designed mostly for artists with sometimes urgent needs, so we do care A LOT about the support.

    Just take a look at mad-matt, pierre or franz (from the garageCube team) posts on the forum :)

    However, support can be complicated because we're not Apple or Adobe, we're a tiny team...

    For miniMad, we do have one official specialist/developer, you can guess how busy he is...

    Still, I truly apologize if you didn't get the help/support you expected,

    Do not hesitate though to contact us at anytime through the support or forum - no matter what we'll read and answer
    Benoit * garageCube team

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest