Locked 51 posts
Modul8 v3.0 hd BETA
  • User avatar
    VJFranzK
    super8 member
    Posts: 106
    Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:25 pm
    Location: LA Area, USA
    Contact:

    Re: Modul8 v3.0 hd BETA

    by VJFranzK » Sun Jul 31, 2016 7:53 am

    edit - this is happening only with this particular M8 set? dont know why. here is the image file used;
    8-BARB-WIRE-HEXAGON-VJ-SHAPES.png
    shape layer used
    8-BARB-WIRE-HEXAGON-VJ-SHAPES.png (144.01 KiB) Viewed 3424 times

    -----

    Next Issue: Blending Modes Glitch?
    Premul, Scr, and Exc mode causing unusual results!

    I noticed this when loading up a set which works fine in 2.9
    Using .PNG with alpha channel
    Including example shots
    Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 10.42.54 PM.png
    Blending Mode Glitch
    Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 10.42.54 PM.png (39.21 KiB) Viewed 3426 times

    Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 10.41.28 PM.png
    Not Glitched with Other Settings
    Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 10.41.28 PM.png (40.34 KiB) Viewed 3426 times


    ( how I would love a way to import vector shapes directly, without converting them to bitmaps ; - )
    youtube.com/vjfranzk
    Subscribe! ;-)
  • User avatar
    ghostofelvis100
    activ8 member
    Posts: 93
    Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:19 pm
    Location: Lampeter, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Modul8 v3.0 hd BETA

    by ghostofelvis100 » Sun Jul 31, 2016 2:25 pm

    new keyword ctrl_master_fadeToBlack does not seem to do anything, or even register as a keyword in the Direct Event module.

    I guess I am doing the correct thing? Sending an integer boolean value to to the keyword (e.g.. val = 1 or val = 0):-

    modul8.setValue('ctrl_master_fadeToBlack',val,0)

    There's no info in the keyword browser to explain the keyword, plus there's no button in the interface for this yet.

    Output Lightness values below 0.5 increase lightness to full on white out at 0. Should this not also fade to black at zero?

    Little things, of little importance in what is otherwise an amazing work.

    Not suggesting this is a t-shirt worthy bug, but a small/medium mens will do nicely ; )
  • maxnova
    junior Member
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:12 pm

    Re: Modul8 v3.0 hd BETA

    by maxnova » Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:30 pm

    Modul8 v3.0 hd BETA freezes immediately when I select any module from the modules menu. Even if no media has been imported to the project yet.

    Macbook Pro Retina, Mid 2012
    16 GB Ram
    OSX 10.8.5
  • gustviana
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 11:52 pm

    Re: Modul8 v3.0 hd BETA

    by gustviana » Tue Aug 02, 2016 3:20 am

    The module library is not open. When trying to access it to the program of work is to restart the computer to open the Modul8 again
    I MAC
    2,7 GHz intel core i5
    8GB
    MAC hd
    Tests performed on Mac Pro 2011 version 10.11.6, 2 GHz intel core I7 8GB, the modules worked perfectly
    Last edited by gustviana on Thu Aug 04, 2016 12:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
  • brownie
    junior Member
    Posts: 3
    Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 8:28 am

    Re: Modul8 v3.0 hd BETA

    by brownie » Wed Aug 03, 2016 8:35 am

    Dear Boris,

    I found something:

    When outputing a syphon movie to MadMapper using the advanced output, nothing goes through to Madmapper.
    The syphon is recognized by MadMapper but only a black screen is shown.

    This setup works perfectly is Modul8 2.9.2 but not in 3.0.
    The problem comes from the advanced output because deactivating it restores the video in MadMapper via Syphon, but without clips separation as wanted.

    This was tested on a 2015 MacBookPro Retina with 10.11.

    Tell me if you need more information.

    Thanks,

    Jonathan
  • jason5d
    member
    Posts: 24
    Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 4:35 pm
    Location: uk
    Contact:

    Re: Modul8 v3.0 hd BETA - frame rate issue

    by jason5d » Wed Aug 03, 2016 4:58 pm

    I have a frame rate issue.
    Play back isn't as smooth in full screen mode

    When I switch to full screen the frame rate drops a great deal.
    desktop mode - 90-100 fps
    fullscreen mode 26-28 fps

    i7 macbook pro 2014 16gb 512 pcie ssd el cap modul8 HD beta1 conected to a samsung hdmi tv

    playing one 1080/30 mjpeg loop
    macbook pro 2015 2.5ghz i7 16gb 512gb r9 2gb
  • gustviana
    junior Member
    Posts: 2
    Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 11:52 pm

    Re: Modul8 v3.0 hd BETA -control back and forth

    by gustviana » Thu Aug 04, 2016 12:07 am

    The control goes back and forth is delaying the frames when the loop back is triggered. I used H.264 codec 1280 x720 and 30 fps
    Tests
    Mac Pro - 2011
    version 10.11.6
    2GHz Intel Core I7
    8GB 1333
    AMD Radeon HD 6490 256 MB M

    and

    I MAC 2011
    2,7 GHz intel core I5
    8GB 1333
    AMD Raedon HD 6770 M 512 MB
  • User avatar
    ghostofelvis100
    activ8 member
    Posts: 93
    Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:19 pm
    Location: Lampeter, UK
    Contact:

    Re: Modul8 v3.0 hd BETA

    by ghostofelvis100 » Thu Aug 04, 2016 2:44 am

    Lol, didn't notice this and I just found the same issue in the syphon module, so I made a fix and uploaded it to the library, then found your post:-

    boris wrote:It's fixed there is a new version (1.1) in the online library.
    boris wrote:I found the 1st issue :
    The module 'syphon input' does not choose the correct media!
    I new t-shirt for my collection!
    ;-)


    So I went back and checked your fix and you've missed a line in the init script. Plus the original 1.0 module is in the public section, which will be confusing...

    Public Library > Syphon Input for M8-HD (layer)

    I will try to update the Micromodul8 too soon. You have given me lots of work - thanks ; 0
  • Videometry
    member
    Posts: 20
    Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 5:48 pm

    Re: Modul8 v3.0 hd BETA

    by Videometry » Thu Aug 04, 2016 3:19 pm

    noticed some weirdness in the midi mapping when on position- Notice the two green boxes next to the layer speed + the master BG color shouldn't be mappable in position or layerset + position.


    Loving all the new features, especially the locking and added media sets. I'm excited to dive deeper!

    Hardware Overview:

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro11,3
    Processor Name: Intel Core i7
    Processor Speed: 2.3 GHz
    Number of Processors: 1
    Total Number of Cores: 4
    L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache: 6 MB
    Memory: 16 GB
    Boot ROM Version: MBP112.0138.B16
    SMC Version (system): 2.19f3
    Attachments
    Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 8.24.05 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 8.24.05 PM.png (240.35 KiB) Viewed 3350 times
  • User avatar
    boris
    garageCube team
    Posts: 900
    Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:36 am
    Location: Geneva
    Contact:

    Re: Modul8 v3.0 hd BETA

    by boris » Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:49 pm

    Oh!
    Thanks Andy!

    That's append when you do coding just few hours before going to holidays ;-)
    I fixed the code and erased the original module in the public lib.
    (after I fixed the module I checked your's and the code is almost the same...ahah)

    So you win a t-shirt not me !!
    B.

    ghostofelvis100 wrote:Lol, didn't notice this and I just found the same issue in the syphon module, so I made a fix and uploaded it to the library, then found your post:-

    boris wrote:It's fixed there is a new version (1.1) in the online library.
    boris wrote:I found the 1st issue :
    The module 'syphon input' does not choose the correct media!
    I new t-shirt for my collection!
    ;-)


    So I went back and checked your fix and you've missed a line in the init script. Plus the original 1.0 module is in the public section, which will be confusing...

    Public Library > Syphon Input for M8-HD (layer)

    I will try to update the Micromodul8 too soon. You have given me lots of work - thanks ; 0
    Boris * garageCube team
  • User avatar
    boris
    garageCube team
    Posts: 900
    Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:36 am
    Location: Geneva
    Contact:

    Re: Modul8 v3.0 hd BETA

    by boris » Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:54 pm

    Hi Videometry,

    I saw this weird issue, but I was not able to reproduce it, if you explain to me precisely how to reproduce this issue, you definitely win a t-shirt!

    B.


    Videometry wrote:noticed some weirdness in the midi mapping when on position- Notice the two green boxes next to the layer speed + the master BG color shouldn't be mappable in position or layerset + position.


    Loving all the new features, especially the locking and added media sets. I'm excited to dive deeper!

    Hardware Overview:

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro11,3
    Processor Name: Intel Core i7
    Processor Speed: 2.3 GHz
    Number of Processors: 1
    Total Number of Cores: 4
    L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache: 6 MB
    Memory: 16 GB
    Boot ROM Version: MBP112.0138.B16
    SMC Version (system): 2.19f3
    Boris * garageCube team
  • User avatar
    boris
    garageCube team
    Posts: 900
    Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:36 am
    Location: Geneva
    Contact:

    Re: Modul8 v3.0 hd BETA - frame rate issue

    by boris » Thu Aug 04, 2016 11:02 pm

    Try again using HAP or H264 codec for your movie, please.

    B.
    jason5d wrote:I have a frame rate issue.
    Play back isn't as smooth in full screen mode

    When I switch to full screen the frame rate drops a great deal.
    desktop mode - 90-100 fps
    fullscreen mode 26-28 fps

    i7 macbook pro 2014 16gb 512 pcie ssd el cap modul8 HD beta1 conected to a samsung hdmi tv

    playing one 1080/30 mjpeg loop
    Boris * garageCube team
  • User avatar
    boris
    garageCube team
    Posts: 900
    Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:36 am
    Location: Geneva
    Contact:

    Re: Modul8 v3.0 hd BETA

    by boris » Thu Aug 04, 2016 11:25 pm

    Oh what a strange issue!
    Thanks for your report, I can reproduce it, so you win a t-shirt !
    Congratulation haha!
    B.

    VJFranzK wrote:edit - this is happening only with this particular M8 set? dont know why. here is the image file used;
    8-BARB-WIRE-HEXAGON-VJ-SHAPES.png

    -----

    Next Issue: Blending Modes Glitch?
    Premul, Scr, and Exc mode causing unusual results!

    I noticed this when loading up a set which works fine in 2.9
    Using .PNG with alpha channel
    Including example shots
    Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 10.42.54 PM.png

    Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 10.41.28 PM.png


    ( how I would love a way to import vector shapes directly, without converting them to bitmaps ; - )
    Boris * garageCube team
  • User avatar
    boris
    garageCube team
    Posts: 900
    Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:36 am
    Location: Geneva
    Contact:

    Re: Modul8 v3.0 hd BETA

    by boris » Thu Aug 04, 2016 11:27 pm

    mmm i'm not sure to understand what you said, are you using google translate ;-) ?

    gustviana wrote:The module library is not open. When trying to access it to the program of work is to restart the computer to open the Modul8 again
    I MAC
    2,7 GHz intel core i5
    8GB
    MAC hd
    Tests performed on Mac Pro 2011 version 10.11.6, 2 GHz intel core I7 8GB, the modules worked perfectly
    Boris * garageCube team
  • User avatar
    boris
    garageCube team
    Posts: 900
    Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:36 am
    Location: Geneva
    Contact:

    Re: Modul8 v3.0 hd BETA

    by boris » Thu Aug 04, 2016 11:35 pm

    mmm, hard to to said something, of course we don't have this issue here, it happens all the time?
    Did you tried again? just to know... Modul8 freeze with the the Spinning Beachball of Death?

    B.


    maxnova wrote:Modul8 v3.0 hd BETA freezes immediately when I select any module from the modules menu. Even if no media has been imported to the project yet.

    Macbook Pro Retina, Mid 2012
    16 GB Ram
    OSX 10.8.5
    Boris * garageCube team
Locked 51 posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest