Locked 11 posts Page 1 of 1
MODUL8 v3.0 hd BETA 2
  • garageRoot
    garageCube team
    Posts: 130
    Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 6:49 am

    MODUL8 v3.0 hd BETA 2

    by garageRoot » Mon Aug 29, 2016 10:15 pm

    The Modul8 v3.0 hd Beta 2 has been released!
    To download it, click on the button or log on the modul8 yourspace page [/url] http://www.modul8.ch/yourspace[/url] using your modul8 serial number.

    Please feel free to use this topic to give us feedback and bug report about the modul8 v3 BETA 2.
    You can send a mail to : beta[AT]garagecube[DOT]com

    Please Note : Check if your bugs/issues have been not already reported on the last beta here :
    viewtopic.php?f=1&t=9577
    (we didn't fix all the issues reported yet)
    There is is still a free t-shirt for anyone who discover a new bug or crash and describe how to reproduce it!

    Version v3.9 BETA 2 build 57A1A35 (expiration date September, 30 2016)
    v3 requires macOS 10.9+

    ADDITION
    + New special media : Solid White
    + Documentation for new keywords (ctrl_master_lightness, ctrl_master_fadeToBlack)
    + Warning message when opening a project created using version 2
    + Fixed movie looping
    + Deactivated HAP Q playback until it's functional

    FIXED
    * fixed Syphon in advanced output on retina Macs
    * fixed folder player with certain image formats
    * fixed movie thumbnails aspect-ratio

    IMPROVEMENT
    * refreshed UI 


    WARNING!! : PLEASE DON'T USE IT IN PRODUCTION (OR AT YOUR OWN RISK)
    If you save older project with this beta version you won't be able to open it on version 2.9.2 and older
    [/size]
  • marty2x
    junior Member
    Posts: 5
    Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 11:55 pm

    Re: MODUL8 v3.0 hd BETA 2

    by marty2x » Tue Aug 30, 2016 11:31 am

    Audio and video are still out of sync. There is a delay of half a second or so in the video.
  • User avatar
    pele2010
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 262
    Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:16 pm
    Location: Hamburg, Germany
    Contact:

    Re: MODUL8 v3.0 hd BETA 2

    by pele2010 » Sun Sep 04, 2016 5:41 pm

    Hi ,

    logical record does not clear it´s value, when pressing the "X" .

    kind regards Peter

    [img]
    Bildschirmfoto%202016-09-04%20um%2017.46.37.png
    [/img]
    Attachments
    Bildschirmfoto 2016-09-04 um 17.46.37.png
    logical record does not clear when pressing "X" delete
    Bildschirmfoto 2016-09-04 um 17.46.37.png (117.36 KiB) Viewed 3043 times
    pele2010

    Act without doing; work without effort. Think of the small as large and the few as many. Confront the difficult while it is still easy;
    accomplish the great task by a series of small acts.
    http://www.eachfilm.de /// each01
  • User avatar
    pele2010
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 262
    Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:16 pm
    Location: Hamburg, Germany
    Contact:

    Re: MODUL8 v3.0 hd BETA 2

    by pele2010 » Sun Sep 04, 2016 5:50 pm

    Hi,

    for me "sub" blending mode is not working as in the other modul8 versions.

    I have to use "SCR" to get the same (not quite) result

    thanks Peter
    pele2010

    Act without doing; work without effort. Think of the small as large and the few as many. Confront the difficult while it is still easy;
    accomplish the great task by a series of small acts.
    http://www.eachfilm.de /// each01
  • User avatar
    pele2010
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 262
    Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:16 pm
    Location: Hamburg, Germany
    Contact:

    Re: Demo Project Version 3.0

    by pele2010 » Sun Sep 04, 2016 7:53 pm

    Hi,

    i checked the demo project of the modul8 3.0 version and it tells me that
    it´s an version 2.xxx project.

    Maybe it should be updated, so this message does´t pop up?

    And it does not work at all. (with my retina macbook)

    so i would suggest some kind of transfer of the old projects to the new version.

    [img]
    Bildschirmfoto%202016-09-04%20um%2019.49.49.png
    [/img]
    Attachments
    Bildschirmfoto 2016-09-04 um 19.49.49.png
    message that pops up , when the software starts ....
    Bildschirmfoto 2016-09-04 um 19.49.49.png (254.28 KiB) Viewed 3035 times
    pele2010

    Act without doing; work without effort. Think of the small as large and the few as many. Confront the difficult while it is still easy;
    accomplish the great task by a series of small acts.
    http://www.eachfilm.de /// each01
  • User avatar
    pele2010
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 262
    Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:16 pm
    Location: Hamburg, Germany
    Contact:

    Re: Demo Project Version 3.0

    by pele2010 » Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:11 pm

    Hey ,

    We could make a we could make a "demo" contest.

    let´s upload some material and the vj´s that have fun can provide a short project.

    maybe at garagecube they can feed the projects together.

    I made a small one for the transformer patch :

    I can´t attach it here but i send it to pierre.

    thanks Peter
    pele2010

    Act without doing; work without effort. Think of the small as large and the few as many. Confront the difficult while it is still easy;
    accomplish the great task by a series of small acts.
    http://www.eachfilm.de /// each01
  • User avatar
    pele2010
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 262
    Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:16 pm
    Location: Hamburg, Germany
    Contact:

    HAP Codec still yellow

    by pele2010 » Sun Sep 04, 2016 9:35 pm

    [img]
    Bildschirmfoto%202016-09-04%20um%2021.33.20.png
    [/img]
    Attachments
    Bildschirmfoto 2016-09-04 um 21.33.20.png
    still yellow HAP_codec
    Bildschirmfoto 2016-09-04 um 21.33.20.png (170.29 KiB) Viewed 3030 times
    pele2010

    Act without doing; work without effort. Think of the small as large and the few as many. Confront the difficult while it is still easy;
    accomplish the great task by a series of small acts.
    http://www.eachfilm.de /// each01
  • User avatar
    pele2010
    ultim8 member
    Posts: 262
    Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:16 pm
    Location: Hamburg, Germany
    Contact:

    Layer record clip change

    by pele2010 » Mon Sep 05, 2016 11:17 am

    Hi,

    when you record layer actions we where able to jump from clip to clip and record this action too.
    (mediaset)

    This does not work any more. The record runs but it does not jump from clip to clip in the
    mediaset.

    And when you do the same action with logical record, it´s executed, but you don´t get a feedback
    which clip in the mediaset is activated.

    thanks Peter
    pele2010

    Act without doing; work without effort. Think of the small as large and the few as many. Confront the difficult while it is still easy;
    accomplish the great task by a series of small acts.
    http://www.eachfilm.de /// each01
  • User avatar
    broken
    super8 member
    Posts: 114
    Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:44 pm
    Location: canada

    Re: MODUL8 v3.0 hd BETA 2

    by broken » Wed Sep 14, 2016 8:47 pm

    Getting a lot of crashes at random with the new beta.

    Sometimes crash/freeze entire computer when loading previously saved projects (made in v3 beta hours before).
    Other times when dragging in certain clips the same type of full system freeze happens.

    Due to the nature of these crashes, I am hard powering off my computer each time. Nothing is ever mentioned about previous crashes or submitting logs. I think with a hard reset, Modul8 is unaware there was even a crash happening, and thus doesn't report or log it as a crash?

    Just wondering if there's anything I can submit that may help narrow down the issue on my system. It's quite random when it happens.

    I could show up at a venue, setup my clips in order, get madmapper setup for surfaces.. save Modul8 file (that runs flawlessly), then when I try to load the same file 2-3h later, full system freeze/crash and I have to hard reset.

    Modul8HD works so much faster with my HD content when it works, so I keep trying to use it - however these hard resets are not beneficial and would love to get to the bottom of it! :)
  • renaud
    activ8 member
    Posts: 52
    Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 8:02 pm
    Location: Paris
    Contact:

    Re: MODUL8 v3.0 hd BETA 2

    by renaud » Wed Sep 21, 2016 6:50 pm

    Dear Modul8 team,

    I've found a bug related to the scripting/modules part.

    In modul8 2.X, you can use float to assign a media to a layer
    in modul8 3, you cannot. You must use an integer to get it working.

    I guess that many modules might use floats as it is the default with touch osc or other editors (i discovered the bug using a OSC module).

    Steps to reproduce :
    Put these 3 lines in a blank module (init part)
    modul8.setValue('ctrl_layer_activated', 0, 1)
    modul8.setValue('ctrl_layer_activated', 1, 1)
    modul8.setValue('ctrl_layer_media', 3.0, 1)

    expected result:
    Media 3 is assigned to Layer 1

    Result with Modul8 3
    Layer 1 has no media associated.

    cheers,

    renaud


    If
  • renaud
    activ8 member
    Posts: 52
    Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 8:02 pm
    Location: Paris
    Contact:

    Re: MODUL8 v3.0 hd BETA 2

    by renaud » Wed Sep 21, 2016 6:51 pm

    I didn't try for other parameters, but maybe all integers parameters are affected by this bug…

    cheers,

    renaud
Locked 11 posts Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest