1920x1080 not filling frame?

Modul8 v3 HD beta program

Moderator: Garagecube

1920x1080 not filling frame?

Postby broken » Mon Sep 26, 2016 9:36 pm

I've been using the new test cards to organize my layers but I noticed there's a 1-2 pixel black border around the frame when using Normalize 16/9 and the scale "reset" to "02 X"

The test card, nor video for full HD 1920x1080 content doesn't actually fill the frame.

I've set my Modul8 syphon output to 1920x1080, and in Madmapper defined my quad to be exactly 1920x1080 and adjusted the input position to be exact. Still a black frame or border is being sent from Modul8.

I noticed it when mapping an object and couldn't figure out why there was a black line where my video should have still been playing.. Resizing the quad in Madmapper to be smaller than 1920x1080 gets rid of it, but you have to zoom in and lose part of the image to fix this issue.

Screen Shot 2016-09-26 at 3.32.33 PM.png
Screen Shot 2016-09-26 at 3.32.33 PM.png (23.44 KiB) Viewed 685 times


Screen Shot 2016-09-26 at 3.32.13 PM.png
Screen Shot 2016-09-26 at 3.32.13 PM.png (12.68 KiB) Viewed 685 times


Can we fill the frame to the full 1920x1080?

Thanks!
User avatar
broken
super8 member
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:44 pm
Location: canada

Re: 1920x1080 not filling frame?

Postby boris » Wed Sep 28, 2016 7:29 pm

Screen Shot 2016-09-28 at 19.16.46.png
Screen Shot 2016-09-28 at 19.16.46.png (9.21 KiB) Viewed 659 times
Hi there,

It's actually not a new bug (but it's annoying).
There is some imprecisions in the process of transposing 3D in 2D in Modul8.
I will check if we can fix that on the way.
In the meantime there is a little workaround, you can reduce the field of view of the camera, that will reduce the imprecision too.
(tuning on the left the small knob in transform)

Thanks,
Boris.

broken wrote:I've been using the new test cards to organize my layers but I noticed there's a 1-2 pixel black border around the frame when using Normalize 16/9 and the scale "reset" to "02 X"

The test card, nor video for full HD 1920x1080 content doesn't actually fill the frame.

I've set my Modul8 syphon output to 1920x1080, and in Madmapper defined my quad to be exactly 1920x1080 and adjusted the input position to be exact. Still a black frame or border is being sent from Modul8.

I noticed it when mapping an object and couldn't figure out why there was a black line where my video should have still been playing.. Resizing the quad in Madmapper to be smaller than 1920x1080 gets rid of it, but you have to zoom in and lose part of the image to fix this issue.

The attachment Screen Shot 2016-09-26 at 3.32.33 PM.png is no longer available


The attachment Screen Shot 2016-09-26 at 3.32.13 PM.png is no longer available


Can we fill the frame to the full 1920x1080?

Thanks!
User avatar
boris
GarageCUBE team
 
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:36 am
Location: Geneva

Re: 1920x1080 not filling frame?

Postby broken » Wed Sep 28, 2016 7:41 pm

boris wrote:
Screen Shot 2016-09-28 at 19.16.46.png
Hi there,

It's actually not a new bug (but it's annoying).
There is some imprecisions in the process of transposing 3D in 2D in Modul8.
I will check if we can fix that on the way.
In the meantime there is a little workaround, you can reduce the field of view of the camera, that will reduce the imprecision too.
(tuning on the left the small knob in transform)

Thanks,
Boris.

broken wrote:I've been using the new test cards to organize my layers but I noticed there's a 1-2 pixel black border around the frame when using Normalize 16/9 and the scale "reset" to "02 X"

The test card, nor video for full HD 1920x1080 content doesn't actually fill the frame.

I've set my Modul8 syphon output to 1920x1080, and in Madmapper defined my quad to be exactly 1920x1080 and adjusted the input position to be exact. Still a black frame or border is being sent from Modul8.

I noticed it when mapping an object and couldn't figure out why there was a black line where my video should have still been playing.. Resizing the quad in Madmapper to be smaller than 1920x1080 gets rid of it, but you have to zoom in and lose part of the image to fix this issue.

Screen Shot 2016-09-26 at 3.32.33 PM.png


Screen Shot 2016-09-26 at 3.32.13 PM.png


Can we fill the frame to the full 1920x1080?

Thanks!


Thanks for the reply Boris.

I guess I likely avoided this bug in the past due to how Modul8 handled HD media (poorly)...
I used to have to spend a lot of time resizing and scaling my media to be pixel accurate in 2.9, and using modules to precisely fit my layers together.

When v3 had updated testcards and HD compatibility/performance upgrades I figured that I wouldn't have to tweak anything (in theory) due to how Modul8 would now properly handle HD content scaling.

I'll give this a shot though. It is a tad annoying I agree :)

When using Madmapper's testcard the black frame goes away ;)
User avatar
broken
super8 member
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:44 pm
Location: canada

Re: 1920x1080 not filling frame?

Postby broken » Thu Oct 13, 2016 7:14 pm

Unfortunately the workaround fix causes some undesired effect when using the transformer matrix. As you can see there's a black line down the center from where the edges of the clip aren't filling the frame fully.
The field of view scale seems to do a good job on plain clips - but I happen to use the transformer matrix often to give visuals symmetry when they have none.

Hopefully a proper fix can be found! Appreciate it!

Screen Shot 2016-10-13 at 12.57.29 PM.jpg
Screen Shot 2016-10-13 at 12.57.29 PM.jpg (192.98 KiB) Viewed 606 times
User avatar
broken
super8 member
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:44 pm
Location: canada


Return to Modul8 v3 HD BETA

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron