Modul8 + Ableton Live over OSC
    The Midi Thief
    master

Modul8 + Ableton Live over OSC

by The Midi Thief » Wed Jan 19, 2011 5:46 am

I recently realized that if you modify Ableton Live a bit you can have it sending OSC messages. The OSC module sees these messages from Live but can't do anything with them since they aren't addressed to Modul8. That's when I started coding a dispatch. Read about it here http://themidithief.com/2011/01/ableton-live-modul8/ and let me know if this is something that is useful to you and I will consider making a more usable version of this module.

After installing the OSC folders from mlrV4live in the Live application package, there is no other software needed between Live and Modul8 and you will keep the full resolution of the OSC messages. [/url]
    The Midi Thief
    master

by The Midi Thief » Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:12 am

I really want to discuss this with people that are doing audiovisual stuff with Modul8 and Live. I've been doing some further thinking:

Whether an OSC module for Live communication is necessary or not depends on how people are working. Or maybe it could eventually change how people are working. But let's look at what Live does and doesn't do.

Live doesn't send MIDI messages over OSC (at least not to my knowledge). It's really unnecessary if you think about it. MIDI is low res so it wouldn't benefit from being sent over a protocol with higher resolution* like OSC. MIDI is MIDI for good and for worse. So if you are using midi notes (as in note on/off) to trigger things in Modul8 you might as well just stick to MIDI.

But what Live does is sending OSC messages for all knobs and sliders, on the tracks and on the effects (I'm pretty new at Live so bare with me).