Maximum weight of projector to hang from drywall ceiling?
  • AgentD
    activ8 member

Maximum weight of projector to hang from drywall ceiling?

by AgentD » Tue Jan 19, 2021 4:51 am

Hi,

I know this might be slightly off-topic but I am hoping that some MadMapper user has come across with the same issue.

I am a projection artist and I am planning for a projection mapping installation for an exhibition. I need to install 4 projectors from the ceiling which is made with drywall. I want to use over 6500 lumens projectors and these tend to be over 20~30 ilbs. The heaviest projector that I installed on the drywall ceiling was 10lbs and I am wondering what would the heaviest that can normally take. I am going to use a common universal ceiling mount.

Any advice or suggestions will be highly appreciated. Thank you!!
  • jasonbeyers
    super8 member

Re: Maximum weight of projector to hang from drywall ceiling?

by jasonbeyers » Thu Jan 21, 2021 2:03 am

I would strongly caution against hanging a projector from only drywall/sheetrock -- especially if people may be standing below them. Ceiling drywall is not designed to hold weight like that, and I'd say the max safe weight supported by ceiling drywall alone is *zero*. Even mounting that weight to a wall (with drywall only) is questionable.

There will be ceiling joists spaced 16" or 24" apart (spacing may be different outside of US) and you'll want to mount the projectors to those, as they are solid wood or possibly metal. Use a stud finder to locate the joists hidden behind the drywall, and use screws long enough to reach them. You'll only be able to affix two of the projector mount holes to these, since the joists aren't very wide, but you could use drywall anchors for the other holes if you wish. But the real strength will come from the screws in the joists.