ISF-Shaders in MadMapper
  • woodwindblues

ISF-Shaders in MadMapper

by woodwindblues » Sun Jan 30, 2022 9:27 pm

Hello,

I am new to MadMapper and, since I started working with custom shaders, very interested in it's capability in that part. So far I worked with GLSL shaders only, but after looking through the ISF Docs, I managed to port a few shaders to MadMapper. I am still having a few problems, though. Are there any docs specifically for the ISF syntax in MadMapper? For example, if I use the ISF generated RENDERSIZE, this is not the material-size in MadMapper, but the size of the whole render window. If I use texCoord to call the main function (like materialColorForPixel suggests), only a small fraction of the shader gets rendered. If I use gl_FragCoord, the shader gets rendered properly, but it seems to get rendered "behind" the screen and the Quads act as a kind of mask.

Here you can see me comparing the behaviour of the MadMapper Clouds Material (works as expected) with two shaders I ported from shadertoy (weird mask-behaviour):
    https://imgur.com/a/rsVSYtr
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team

Re: ISF-Shaders in MadMapper

by mad-matt » Mon Jan 31, 2022 11:12 am

Hi,
    Materials documentation is available in MadMapper help menu.
    if I use the ISF generated RENDERSIZE, this is not the material-size in MadMapper, but the size of the whole render window
    Indeed, in MadMapper materials are rendered directly on screen, so for a quad, it might be i perspective, with mesh warping etc. So using RENDERSIZE would make no sense. You should use "texCoord".
    If I use texCoord to call the main function (like materialColorForPixel suggests), only a small fraction of the shader gets rendered
    texCoord is from 0,0 to 1,1. Maybe your code expects -1,-1 - 1,1.
    If I use gl_FragCoord, the shader gets rendered properly, but it seems to get rendered "behind" the screen