Artnet packet generation
  • MatteLe

Artnet packet generation

by MatteLe » Fri Jan 27, 2023 11:06 pm

Hey Mappers,

I have this scenario: 2 fixtures next to each other, mapped to 2 different universes (unicast with sync), content is line moving through them, 1 after the other. With wireshark I can see that not on every frame both of the dmx packets were sent before a sync. I assume this is intended behaviour when the content not change, maybe to save bandwith, can you confirm this?

My question is: can you tell me, in which (frame or sync) interval I can assume a full transfer of all activated universes, regardless of changed content? In Wireshark it looks like this happens on every second frame...

My background is development of Artnet receivers, mainly intended to work with MM. So it would be nice to know how MM behave to adjust my firmware accordingly.

Thanks in advance,
    Best, Matze
  • MatteLe

Re: Artnet packet generation

by MatteLe » Fri Feb 03, 2023 12:27 pm

No one? I append a example project and the resulting wireshark capture as a screenshot, where you can clearly see that not every universe is transmitted before every sync..
    Attachments
    DMXunidroptest.mad.zip
    (6.8 KiB) Downloaded 131 times
    Bildschirmfoto 2023-02-03 um 11.22.18.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2023-02-03 um 11.22.18.png (377.04 KiB) Viewed 7257 times
  • mad-matt
    garageCube team

by mad-matt » Tue Feb 07, 2023 11:35 am

Hi,
    Sorry for the late reply.

ArtNet spec says if nothing changes in a universe, a minimum of one packet each 4 seconds should be sent. For compatibility with some hardware, we reduced this timeout to half a second.
    We're not supposed to send unchanged universes before each ArtSync. Let me know if you have another information.